placeholder

The humble pride of Heuvelland

At the beautiful sloping flanks of the Rodeberg and the Zwarteberg, right in the heart of Heuvelland, you can find viticulturist Martin Bacquaert. Right here, he is working on his mission: producing the best possible Belgian wines with humble pride and with a deep respect for nature and climate. 

Grapes from Heuvelland

The history of Entre-Deux-Monts

Destined to be

Three generations of the Bacquaert family formed part of the foundation of our wine estate. It all started with grandfather Jean who managed to get his hands on the first parcels of land. Halfway through the last century, he acquired some land on the beautiful sloping hills between the Rodeberg and the Zwarteberg. Father Yves, an ambitious wine and drinks merchant, saw his entrepreneurial spirit continued in his son Martin. He inspired him above all with the idea of making his own wine. Viticulturist and business manager Martin was, in other words, destined to 'do something with wines’.

“I never pushed Martin to grow his own wines. He completely mapped out his own path. Of course, I did plant a seed or two from time to time.” Yves Bacquaert

Op eigen benen

The idea of making our own wines has matured and grown over generations, just like wine does over the years. Martin decided to study bioengineering thanks to his love for nature. In his twenties, he became friends with someone whose father was a winegrower. He helped them pick grapes a few times and soon got the hang of it. His father, Yves, noticed his interest in wines and gave Martin the decisive push to pursue an additional master’s degree in viticulture and oenology in France. After graduating as an official winemaker-oenologist, Martin gained a lot of experience in various renowned French (Bordeaux, Montpellier) and Italian (Friuli) wineries. With this international experience, Martin felt ripe enough to take the step of growing Belgian wines himself. 

“Those first years were a serious learning curve for me. Moreover, you have to invest a lot of money and practise patience before you can reap the rewards of all your efforts. You really have to stand firm to keep believing in yourself and the project you have in mind.” Martin Bacquaert

Martin and his father Yves

Perseverance

Father Yves’s dream of planting his own vineyard on grandfather Jean’s land became reality in 2004, when Yves and Martin planted the initial thousand vines. The first harvest followed in 2008, and it became clear that grandfather Jean’s terroir had the necessary qualities to put Entre-Deux-Monts on the map. The grapes were of excellent quality, and all the stars were in place to make a Belgian wine 'par excellence'. 

“We were certainly not the first winegrowers in Heuvelland, or in Belgium, but there was hardly any experience at the time. Yes, there were moments of doubt.” Martin Bacquaert

Martin may have been born to become a winegrower, but there were many obstacles on his path. Moreover, it is not easy to produce a traditional product like wine in a fairly northern region, known for its cool climate. Nature’s capriciousness has become an ever-growing challenge in recent years. Exceptional drought and heat, extreme rainfall, wind, frost, or hail are external factors that the Entre-Deux-Monts team must take into account increasingly more often.

Cold climate in Heuvelland

“A cool climate is perfect for making sparkling wines. This was no easy task for our still wines at first. As a nature lover, I thus have contradictory feelings about the fact that climate change is having a positive influence on the quality of our still wines.” Martin Bacquaert

Humble pride

The wine estate grew systematically, from 3 hectares in 2005 to 18 hectares today. The pioneering work resulted in a well-oiled machine, which is further developed on a daily basis by a team of five. Our estate has grown to become one of the largest wine estates in Belgium, producing around 100,000 bottles per year. Our sparkling, white, red, and fortified wines are loved by connoisseurs and enthusiasts alike. 

“I am very proud of what we have achieved but we keep our feet on the ground. We are largely dependent on nature. Every year is different, and thanks to our fantastic team, we make the most of it!” Martin Bacquaert

Joy and sorrow

Winemaking is a craft, a passion, and definitely not an exact science. Joy and sorrow alternate, like the seasons sneaking through our vineyards. For example, we are delighted when we notice that the harvest is of high quality, when a positive review arrives in the mailbox, when we win an important award, or when someone gives us a simple compliment. However, we’re equally uncomfortable when bad weather is forecast, when a disease is detected in the vineyard, or when things just don’t go our way. The quality of our wines depends on so many external factors, which makes us all the prouder during moments of joy and all the more determined during slightly more difficult times! 

“Over the years, Martin has managed to transfer his passion to me as well. Our family eats, sleeps, and breathes Entre-Deux-Monts. We cheer when things are going well and we sympathise when they aren’t. I am very proud of my husband.” Anaïs, Martin's wife

Discover our wines

Curious about our wines? Here is what you definitely shouldn't miss. 

Subscribe to our newsletter to not miss out on the evolution of our grapes and the flavours of our wines.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

×

placeholder

La fierté noble de Heuvelland

Sur les flancs magnifiquement inclinés entre le Mont Rouge et le Mont Noir, en plein cœur du Heuvelland, se trouve Martin, le vigneron. C'est à cet endroit précis qu’ il travaille sur sa mission: faire les meilleurs vins belges possible, avec une fierté noble et un profond respect pour la nature et le climat. 

Raisins de Heuvelland

L'histoire d'Entre-Deux-Monts

Prédestination

Trois générations de la famille Bacquaert sont à la base de ce domaine viticole. Tout a commencé avec le grand-père Jean qui a réussi à devenir propriétaire des premières parcelles, situées sur les flancs magnifiquement inclinés entre le Mont Rouge et le Mont Noir, au milieu du siècle dernier. Le père Yves, un ambitieux marchand de vin et de boissons, a légué le désir d’entreprendre à son fils Martin et lui a surtout inspiré l'idée de faire du vin lui-même. C’était donc une évidence que Martin devienne viticulteur.

« Je n’ai jamais poussé Martin à cultiver lui-même la vigne. Il a vraiment tracé sa propre voie. Bien sûr, au besoin, je lui ai soufflé quelques idées ici et là. » Yves Bacquaert

Indépendance

L’idée de produire ses propres vins a mûri et s’est développée au fil des générations et des années, comme le vin. Poussé par son amour de la nature, Martin s’est lancé dans des études de bio-ingénieur. Quand il avait une vingtaine d’années,  il s’est lié d’amitié avec un fils de viticulteur. Ce dernier lui permettait de participer de temps en temps aux vendanges et c’est là qu’est née sa passion pour la viticulture. Cela n’a pas échappé à Yves, père de Martin, qui l’a incité à poursuivre une maîtrise supplémentaire en viticulture et en œnologie en France, une décision qui allait s’avérer déterminante. Martin a obtenu un diplôme officiel de viticulteur-œnologue et a ensuite acquis une expérience considérable dans plusieurs domaines viticoles de renom français (Bordeaux, Montpellier) et italiens (Frioul). Fort de ces expériences internationales, Martin s’est senti prêt à franchir le pas et à produire lui-même des vins belges

« Les premières années ont été une sacrée école pour moi. En plus, vous devez d’abord investir énormément d’argent et être patient avant de pouvoir récolter les fruits de tous vos efforts. Il faut vraiment être sûr de soi pour continuer à croire en soi et au projet que l’on a en tête. » Martin Bacquaert

Martin et son père Yves

Persévérance

Le rêve d’Yves, père de Martin, de planter son propre vignoble sur les terres de son grand-père Jean s’est réalisé en 2004, quand père et fils ont planté les 1000 premiers pieds de vigne. Dès la première récolte en 2008, il est apparu que le terroir du grand-père Jean avait les qualités nécessaires pour se faire immédiatement un nom. Les raisins étaient d’une qualité excellente. Les étoiles étaient donc alignées pour faire un vin belge par excellence.

« Nous n’étions certes pas les premiers à cultiver de la vigne dans le Heuvelland ni en Belgique, mais on manquait d’expérience à l’époque. Oui, il y a eu des moments de doute. » Martin Bacquaert

Même si Martin était né pour être viticulteur, de nombreux obstacles se sont dressés sur sa route. De plus, il n’est pas évident de produire un produit traditionnel comme le vin dans une région plutôt septentrionale, connue pour son climat frais. Ces dernières années, les caprices de la nature ont posé un défi croissant. La sécheresse et la chaleur exceptionnelles, les précipitations extrêmes, le vent, le gel ou la grêle sont désormais pour l’équipe du domaine Entre-Deux-Monts des éléments externes à prendre de plus en plus en compte.  

Climat frais à Heuvelland

« Un climat frais est parfait pour l’élaboration de vins mousseux. En revanche, ce ne fut pas une tâche facile au début pour nos autres vins. Amoureux de la nature, je trouve quelque peu contradictoire que le changement climatique ait justement une influence positive sur la qualité de nos vins tranquilles. » Martin Bacquaert

La fierté noble

Le domaine viticole a été agrandi graduellement, de 3 hectares en 2005 jusqu’à bien 18 hectares aujourd’hui. Ce travail de pionnier a résulté en une machine bien huilée, dans laquelle une équipe de 5 personnes continue à œuvrer chaque jour. Notre domaine viticole n'a cessé de croître pour devenir l'une des plus grandes exploitations viticoles belges, produisant quelque 100 000 bouteilles par an. Nos vins mousseux, blancs, rouges et enrichis en alcool sont aujourd’hui estimés par des connaisseurs et des passionnés. 

« Je suis très fier de ce que nous avons accompli, mais nous gardons les pieds sur terre. Nous sommes largement tributaires de la nature. Chaque année est différente et nous en tirons le meilleur parti grâce à notre équipe formidable ! » Martin Bacquaert

Joie et tristesse

Faire du vin est un métier, une passion, mais certainement pas une science exacte. La joie et la tristesse se succèdent, comme les saisons dans nos vignobles. Nous sommes aux anges quand nous constatons que la vendange est de grande qualité, quand un avis positif arrive dans la boîte aux lettres, quand nous remportons une médaille importante ou quand quelqu’un nous fait un simple compliment. Notre inquiétude est tout aussi grande lorsque l’on prévoit du mauvais temps, qu’une certaine maladie a été détectée dans le vignoble ou que cela ne va tout simplement pas comme nous le souhaitons. La qualité de nos vins dépend de tant de facteurs externes que cela nous rend d’autant plus fiers dans les moments de joie et d’autant plus déterminés dans les moments un peu plus difficiles ! 

« Martin a réussi à me transmettre sa passion au fil des ans. Notre famille vit au rythme du domaine Entre-Deux-Monts. Nous partageons la joie quand tout va bien et l’inquiétude quand cela va moins bien. Je suis très fière de mon mari. » Anaïs, épouse de Martin

Ontdek onze wijnen

Benieuwd naar onze wijn? Hier vind je alvast wat je niet mag missen.

Savoir tout sur les raisins et les saveurs de nos vins ? Inscrivez-vous à notre lettre d’information.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

×